Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Kirksville R-III School District

Board of Education


Ajax Loading Image


Meet the Board


Jeremy Houser, PhD, President

8 Meadow Brook Rd

Kirksville, MO 63501




"As an educator, I work hard to engage my students in a fun, but rigorous process to become the best physicians that they can be. I use traditional and contemporary methods, based on evidence, to create an environment conducive to optimal learning.

As a board member, I expect the same from our district. All levels of the district must work hard to create an environment that is engaging, interesting, and effective to provide all 2400+ students with the best education possible. I hope to improve the culture of the school so that all students are excited to go to school and learn. We can accomplish this by equipping the best teachers with a dynamic and effective curriculum.  It is my great pleasure to be serving on the Board of Education for you and your children."

Jeremy Houser was elected to the Kirksville R-III Board of Education in 2017. He holds a bachelor's degree in Health Education from the University of Iowa,a master's degree in Biomechanics from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and a doctoral degree in Neuroscience from the University of Houston. Jeremy is a former NASA scientist and professor at Truman State University. Currently, he is a professor of Anatomy at the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine / A.T. Still University of Health Sciences.


Term Expires: 2023




Nan Davis, Vice President

2710 Dawnview Drive

Kirksville, MO 63501




“I believe in public education and that outstanding schools are a foundation of outstanding communities. I’m committed to our mission of empowering EVERY student to create their success, build their community, and better the world. Being a member of the Kirksville R-III School Board allows me the opportunity to ensure accountability and support of ALL students, parents, and stakeholders.”

Nan was elected to the Kirksville R-III Board of Education in 2014. She is currently the office manager at Hearken Hearing & Audiology and has had a successful impact bringing developmental disability services to the community serving as co-chair of the SB40 campaign and then serving as the executive director.  She has served in various community organizations and is very involved in her church. She and her husband Evan have four children and a son-in-law, who have attended Kirksville schools, and two beautiful grandsons. They are the reason for her passion & dedication to successful & valuable educational opportunities.

Term expires: 2023



Angela Caraway, Secretary

2900 N. Lincoln Street

Kirksville, MO 63501




“I am honored to be chosen to represent the local voters, students, staff and faculty of Kirksville R-III Schools to embrace their mission to Empower 21st century learners to create their success, build their community and better their world.

Angela Caraway was elected to the Kirksville Board of Education in 2021.  She and her husband, Todd, raised their three children in Kirksville and they all three were graduates of Kirksville High School.  Their son’s, Nicholas and Zachary, both participated in Kirksville Area Technical Center programs in agriculture, building trades and graphic design. Their daughter, Samantha, was the recipient of the Prudential Spirit of Community Service Award for Missouri in 2014. The Caraway children all went onto Missouri State University in Springfield to pursue their undergraduate degrees. 

Angela received her Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology from Truman State University in 1993 and her Master’s in Clinical Social Work from the University of Missouri Columbia in 1998.  She is a Vice President of Clinical Operations for Mark Twain Behavioral Health and will be celebrating 25 years of employment this summer.  Angela was instrumental in growing the School Based Therapy program in rural northeast Missouri and improving access to mental health services for area youth and families. Before she was in administration, she worked with their crisis services and building local resources to enhance suicide prevention efforts in their service area. 

Term Expires: 2024


Nick Billington, Treasurer

805 Cleaver Drive

Kirksville, MO 63501



"I look forward to serving on the Kirksville R-lll School Board. I am humbled and grateful for this opportunity to learn and grow and be a part of this District's success" 

Nick and his wife Jenny have 6 children, 5 of which will be attending Kirksville R-lll this fall. Nick owns his own business, Mow-N-Go Lawncare. Nick spends his free time hunting, coaching, and volunteering in youth sports. 

Term Expires: 2024



Gayla McHenry

21161 Radical Ridge Way

Kirksville, MO 63501




Gayla McHenry was elected to the Kirkville Board of Education in 2016. She holds a bachelor of science in Economics from Truman State University. She has been employed at Pickler Memorial Library (TSU) as Head of Access Services for the past 24 years.  

She and her husband Jason have four children, Lauren, Olivia, Grace, and Grant.


Term Expires: 2023





Mikey Bishop
Kirksville, MO 63501




Term Expires: 2025





Julie Sneddon
Kirksville, MO 63501




Term Expires: 2025